Small Text Large Text Print
Another award-winning doctor at Interlake-Eastern RHA
Interlake-Eastern RHA’s Dr. Manish Garg is the 2019 recipient of the Claude H. Murphy Continuing Medical Education Award.
Dr. Garg is a family physician in Pinawa who has been increasingly involved in the training of medical learners. His practice has been providing teaching and learning experience to University of Manitoba medical students and physician assistants for three years in the communities of Whitemouth, Pinawa and Lac du Bonnet.
 “It gives me a great pleasure to have been chosen for this award for this year,” says Dr. Garg. “This would not have been possible without the support of my colleagues and our patients who were more than willing to be seen by our students to help them with their learning needs. I am grateful that our communities rally around the students to make their experience as comfortable and as pleasurable as possible.”
Students experience working with a wide variety of health-care professionals within the team in both hospital and community clinic settings and at the same time enjoy what rural communities have to offer outside of work. Many of these students have chosen to revisit the area again for further clinical experience.
This award is given to a member of the Manitoba College of Family Physicians who wishes to develop or improve his/her skills as a teacher and preceptor of medical trainees at either the undergraduate or postgraduate level.
Dr. Claude Murphy is an important leader in establishing the discipline and teaching of family medicine in Manitoba. The award bearing his name is presented annually to a family physician who has shown dedication and interest in the training of medical learners.
The award will formally be presented to Dr. Garg at the Manitoba College of Family Physicians Annual Scientific Assembly in Winnipeg on April 24, 2020.
The physicians and staff at Interlake-Eastern RHA congratulate Dr. Garg on winning this prestigious award.
This is the third physician, in recent history, in the Interlake-Eastern RHA to win an award from the College of Family Physicians. Last year, Dr. Ian Alexander, a family physician, who practices in Selkirk, was honoured with this same award and Dr. Mich Bruneau won the 2015 Family Physician of the Year award.
Footer Line
Footer Divide French Logo Footer Divide Canada Logo Footer Divide Aboriginal Logo Footer Divide Manitoba Logo Footer Divide
Footer Line
TWITTER Facebook